School Syllabus


Pupils who enroll at Eternal Light study a broad and balanced academic education which combines the National Curriculum alongside Islamic Studies.

We at Eternal Light are firmly committed to the principle of providing a broad and balanced curriculum for all pupils. We aim to reinforce the commitment to provide the highest quality of learning and teaching.

The National Curriculum consists of a variety of subjects including English, Maths, Science, PSHE (Citizenship), Geography, History, Art & Design, ICT, P.E, RE and Urdu.


The purpose of the Curriculum is to detail how the we can serve the needs of all pupils.

To this end, the school aims to:

  • development the intellectual, moral, physical, social, spiritual and creative capacities of all pupils
  • ensure that the curriculum incorporates statutory requirements, including the Equality Act of 2010, Fundamental British Values, yet is flexible and relevant to pupils’ needs
  • prepare pupils for the world of work and lifelong learning
  • to ensure the Islamic faith is delivered throughout the curriculum to allow pupils to live in the United Kingdom as proud British Muslims


A major aim of our curriculum is to support the school’s ethos.

The curriculum is designed to be broad, balanced, relevant and meeting the needs of individual learners. It needs to be constantly reviewed to ensure that we are giving our pupils the best possible outcome.

The curriculum in Years 7 to 9 meets the statutory requirements of the new national curriculum and is enhanced by the provision of Islamic studies (Alim class/Hifz Class), for all pupils.

The curriculum is enriched with regular lessons on Careers, PSHCE (including Citizenship), Religious Studies, Art & Design, ICT and Performing Arts, all of which help in the personal development of pupils.

There is a strong drive for all core subjects such as English, Mathematics and Science and a particularly strong drive for literacy development across both curricula.

External Public Examinations

Pupils are entered for the following GCSE’s:

  • English Language
  • English Literature
  • Mathematics
  • Combined Science Trilogy
  • Religious Studies
  • Urdu
  • Geography

The Post 16 curriculum includes the final three years of the Alim course (Hidaya, Mishkaat, Bukhari) alongside a choice of A-Level and BTEC subjects.

Choices of A-Level qualifications such as Biology, Religious Studies, Computer Science and BTEC qualifications in Applied Law.

An additional two Level 3 courses are also delivered to Post 16 students; Level 3 Diploma in Supporting Teaching and Learning & Level 3 Diploma in Management Skills and Knowledge.

The school can look into accomodating other A-Level qualifications if students wish to sit them.